Get to Know Owner & DPT, Dr. Geno Mayes



Why did you go into Physical Therapy? While playing soccer in college and high school, I spent my fair share of time in the sport medicine department due to several injuries including multiple ankle sprains. This ignited my interest in healthcare, but I decided to pursue a more traditional undergraduate degree in Business Administration. After an unfulfilling start in the corporate world, I knew I wanted to pursue something I was more passionate about. 

I began interviewing physical therapists to learn more about the field, and I loved what they had to say! While I was still working full-time, I decided to take an Anatomy & Physiology class to be sure I really wanted to go back for my Doctorate of Physical Therapy. I loved the class material, and that’s when I knew that this was the right field for me. 

geno furman soccer poster.png

geno furman soccer poster.png

What do you like most about being a PT? I love getting my patients better at life. My job by description involves improving overall physical function, but I enjoy the coaching and motivating aspect of my work. I want to be a catalyst for patients to dream bigger about what they can accomplish. I strive to improve my patients’ confidence and so they can tackle their recovery with great fortitude. I want to build character while building strength…."IRON” strong!

How would friends describe you? Passionate, encouraging, funny

Where did you grow up? Rock Hill, SC! My family moved outside New Orleans for my senior year in high school, but now they live in Atlanta.

Where did you go to College? What was your major? Furman University - BA in Business Administration; UMDNJ/Rutgers - Doctor of Physical Therapy

What was your first job after college? Computer Software Sales and then Pharmaceutical Sales

Where's home and who's there? My beautiful wife of 17 years, our 2 daughters and our dog Sophie are my loves at home in Caldwell.

Hidden talent? I used to be very involved with playing alto saxophone in high school (I was All State!) I only pick it up a couple times a year now, but I just started learning some guitar. I'm also really handy around the house. I can do everything from basic plumbing/electrical work to laying flooring...I get that from my dad.



One thing on your bucket list? To see several soccer games in Europe; specifically, Barcelona and Liverpool at their home fields.

How do you like to stay active? CrossFit, soccer, triathlons, running, cycling, snowboarding. 

Mountain cabin, beach house or big city condo? Beach house…I love the sand between my toes and the sound of the ocean. 

How many pairs of shoes do you own? A lot.

At which store would you like to max-out your credit card? Best Buy - you can’t have too many electronics.


  • Food? - sushi, pizza

  • TV Shows? Homeland, Chicago Fire, anything with a lot of action...

  • Sport to Watch and Play? Soccer

  • Ice Cream Flavor? Coffee Oreo Crunch from Gelotti

  • Drink at Starbucks? Peppermint Mocha Latte