Get to Know Clinic Assistant, Joanna



What do you like most about working in a physical therapy clinic? I love talking with patients and helping them on their journey.  I love to see their progress from the moment they walk in to start PT until the day they graduate. A friendship and a connection has been formed. It's always bittersweet to see them leave.  

Where did you grow up? West Paterson/Woodland Park Where did you go to school? Montclair State University - Studied Human Ecology with a concentration in Fashion Studies.  

What was your first job? First job after college? My first job ever was at Holy Family Residence (Nursing Home).  After College, I worked at Ralph Lauren Childrenswear (Assistant Product Developer for Boys Knits) 

How do you like to stay active? From the time I wake up, I generally don't sit down until I go to sleep.  I'm always moving.  I also like to try to do some cardio and weights 4 days a week.  I found this exercise routine in "Self Magazine" last year that I LOVE so I make that part of my weekly to do list.  

How would friends describe you: hardworking, creative, passionate, loving

Hidden talent? I used to be able to play piano by ear without any lessons when I was young.

Hobbies:  I love to create so my hobbies have become my business now. : ) I own a boutique and floral design company, Coco & Bailey

One thing on your bucket list?To sing at a jazz club on stage...outfit, hair and all.  lol!

Who's at home? Any furry friends?I have a wonderful husband named Ryan and our two beautiful children, cats Fiona and Charlie (both females, Fiona is 7 and Charlie is 3 months old) We call Charlie "the baby."

Mountain cabin, beach house or big city condo?Beach house; however, big city condo is not too far behind

How many pairs of shoes do you own? Not a big shoe person, but ask me how many flip flops I own. :)

At which store would you like to max-out your credit card?There's two -- HomeGoods and Anthropology


  • Place to Travel?Would love to go back to Hawaii!! But I also want to travel back to Europe (Switzerland, Italy and France). I was 12 the last time I went, so I'm really due to go back to see my family.

  • Food?I love all different foods, but I will never say no to Pasta.

  • Music Artist/Song? I'm a Jack Johnson, John Mayer, Dave Matthews Band (I will never get sick of 'Satellite") kind of Girl, but I also do LOVE Chris Botti (Jazz), Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Big Crosby, Louis Armstrong, Jimmy Durante. That whole era. I'm very drawn to that time frame. I think I must have lived it in another life time.

  • TV Show?I'm embarrassed to say but I am a "Bravo" girl. I like a lot of the reality shows. HGTV, Food Network and the Big Bang Theory too.

  • Sport to Watch?Football

  • Sport to Play? Softball

  • Song for Karaoke?Anything by Billy Joel and Whitney Houston (Song from Body Guard)

  • Ice Cream Flavor?Soft chocolate with rainbow sprinkles

  • Drink at Starbucks?Half coffee and half hot chocolate - Yum!